Aboriginal peoples of Canada south of the Arctic and known as the First Nations. They include Inuit and the Métis,the latter being an ethnicity that developed after European contact and relations primarily between First Nations people and Europeans. There are currently 634 recognized First Nations governments or bands spread across Canada, roughly half of which are in the provinces of Ontario and British Columbia. In an exclusive interview to Just Earth News, Ontario Minister of Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation David Zimmer highlighted how his ministry works with First Nation partners to revitalize the treaty relationship and how it protects Aboriginal and treaty rights of the First Nations. Excerpts: more